Enough

Dear Future Me,

I know I don’t usually write Seriouz Posts, because frankly I am here to make you giggle and cringe and maybe choke on your own spit but I never listed “making you think about the hard stuff” as one of my goals. I’m of the opinion that most people who Have Feelings just can’t think of anything good to do, and most feelings can be cured with some creative masturbation or a rousing game a scrabble.

Still, if I only ever make one valid point here, let it be this: everybody has their ENOUGH. And whatever or wherever that ENOUGH is, once you get to it, you’re done. You’ve had ENOUGH. And you deserve that. Everybody deserves to say ENOUGH, and we should listen.

Whatever is enough, is enough.

Listen, maybe your neighbor has cancer and her house burned down and her children hate her and she still manages to bake cupcakes for church on Sunday and smile at strangers on the bus, but that doesn’t mean that you don’t get to have a breakdown because your best friend sent you an insensitive text message. This is grade school stuff, but it bears repeating: We are all different, fucking beautiful unique unicorn rainbow snowflakes, bitches.

There is no arbitrary line drawn on the ground that determines who’s “allowed” to be overwhelmed and who should really just STFU because some of us have real problems, thankyouverymuch. Everybody has a right to their feelings. Everybody has a right to their own personal ENOUGH.

What happens when you get to ENOUGH? Well, you get to stop everything. You’re allowed to take a long bath and long nap and have a strong drink and good cry, and you get to ask for help. You don’t get to turn into a raging asshat of total jerkhood, although you probably will for a while and then you get to crawl back and beg for forgiveness from all your wonderful friends because we all fuck up sometimes, kids. It happens.

Also, and this may be the second and last coherent, relevant point I ever make: just like we all get to say ENOUGH, we all have a right to our feelings. Feelings aren’t wrong and they aren’t something anybody else gets to judge. Feel however you fucking want, although if you subject me to it all the time I might punch you in your gonads. I may not agree with your display of emotions, but I will defend to the death your right to have them, until you start to piss me off, then I’ll roundhouse you.

Live your life, do your shit. Future Me, if you’ve gotten to ENOUGH, call it, sit down, cry, ask for help, then get on with it.

Much love,

Past Leslee.

P.S. For all of you out there panicking because shit, Leslee just had a sensitive moment, don’t worry, I’m fine. I just watched Beauty and the Beast and it’s cracked my shrivelled little heart open like a judgmental grapefruit.

About leslei

Listen, I like to use the eff word. If that is going to be a problem you should probably just turn this car around RIGHT NOW.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Enough

  1. You speak so much truth. I definitely agree with that! People who assume that everyone has the same threshold for pain, suffering, mental anguish or stress are just ignorant.

  2. Nick says:

    I think people tend to think that everyone ‘should’ have the same threshold for pain etc. Which I think is a load. Good post, especially the second paragraph to last.

Leave a Reply

